Semi-automatics, revolvers, long guns... ask questions and offer tips on safe, accurate shooting here.

What was my problem?

Your gun was dirty.
29%
It did not have enough lube.
43%
Your extractor needs to be tuned.
No votes
0%
Over pressurized ammunition.
No votes
0%
Other (with explanation)
29%
 #84860  by jslacker

I took my AR out to the range the other day and she was a one hitter quitter. It would fire only one to two rounds before malfunctioning. I think I have troubleshot my problems but since I am not very experienced yet in the wonderful world of AR's I wanted to run it by you fine guys and gals here and get your input.

I was having problems with the fired round "sticking" causing the case's rim to be ripped by the extractor and a fresh round to double feed. I think I have narrowed the problem down to one of two things, or a combination of both. I either did not clean my chamber well enough from the last time I shot it(I'm going to buy a AR chamber brush in the near future), or it was ran not wet enough. Perusing the interwebs I heard/read a lot about over pressured ammo, but since I was shooting factory ammo and this is mostly an issue with reloads I don't think that was the issue, not that it couldn't happen...

I am hoping it is one of the above issues instead of something that needs some fixing/tuning(thinking extractor). I have included some pictures to make it easier to help me! Thanks DELOC

Ripped rim:

I ended up with a few of these:
 #84862  by Guard_Duck

Clean the chamber, and disassemble and clean the BCG. Start there, and that should help a lot. Make sure you ger the stagger right on the gas rings when you put it back together.

I don't think you have to do anything with the extractor, if it's ripping the rim on the case, I'd say it's working.
 #84863  by jslacker

white95zj wrote:...Make sure you get the stagger right on the gas rings when you put it back together.